Litmus: Friend or Foe


I use Litmus quite extensively for cross-browser testing. We have done some email testing with it, but not nearly as frequently as we use it for basic site testing.
In general the concept is great. Simple, easy to use, clean. When it works, it provides useful screen-shots from almost any browser of your choice

Its email testing client is also awesome. This service feels more robust and has been improving in the past year and a half or so I’ve been using Litmus. ( in fact, I wrote an earlier review of Litmus when I first started using it- but as time went by, I felt I had more to add to a review of the tool than I did initally) It seems to me the company may be moving in this direction. While I do like the email tests, I hope they don’t abandon page testing all together.

starting a new page test for cross browser testing

 

But on the Website testing front, can litmus be used reliably for cross browser results? My biggest complaint is that anything on staging loads so slowly, that often whole sections of the page don’t display properly. It also only clears one level of basic auth, so sites that require more than that will not run.
I think with a few tweaks and clean ups, it could offer a much more robust service to what is already a useful too.
For example, I can send a link to the screenshot result, but I can’t annotate it. Wouldn’t it be great to be able to point out specific areas of concern to developers in a neat, clean way?

Not all browsers offer full page scrolling. That means that sometimes, only the top of the page is visible on the test result.

Offer better support for mac browsers. For some reason, mac browsers always come back with an error and you have to run them multiple times to get them to work. This limits the effectiveness of the test suite.

Overall, this is a useful tool, and I haven’t found anything better to get in full cross-browser testing. However, it does have a few short comings that make working with it more cumbersome and less useful than it could be. It does seem to be getting updates and developing- so hopefully some of these issues will get addressed.

Does anyone else use this tool? If not, what have you found for cross browser testing and do you find it effective?

Leave a Reply

