Time for QA to fully embrace Agile

My favorite idea from Agile 2010 was that “QA should be the headlights for a project” A quality guide, not a quality police.

We can sit at the end of the schedule, run tests and file bugs. Or, we can jump out in front, help define requirements, learn from the programmers as they work on the project, offer advice and keep the user experience and project quality on everyone’s mind from beginning to end. Which helps the project more? Actually, which is more fun? Because personally I’d much rather get involved and get people excited about turning out a good product in the end, than just force quality on them right before release.

So how do you change your company culture to embrace that? I am presenting at a lunch and learn next week, with the hopes of kicking off this next phase of the QA process. I am so inspired and excited for the change after a week of being surrounded with agile talks… but how will the company take it? I think I have gotten my department on board, but the hard part will be the other departments who have to put up with us a lot more now. No one likes change, and organizations are harder to change than people.

So how do you get everyone excited about it? How do you show everyone how important this will be? I haven’t finished my presentation yet, but I’m trying to think back to those really inspiring sessions at the Agile Conference and give it a go. Heres hoping!

2 responses to this post.

  1. “we can jump out in front, help define requirements, learn from the programmers as they work on the project, offer advice and keep the user experience and project quality on everyone’s mind from beginning to end.”

    My team does just that already. But I don’t see any connection with Agile, or embracing Agile…
    To me, that’s just good QA work.

    Reply

  2. that is true, but for us it coincides with the switch to an agile mindset. And the collaborative nature and “whole team” approach fits in with those principles also- whatever name you call it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

