Selenium IDE breaks firefox update 3.6.6

The new firefox update won’t start if the Selenium IDE is enabled.

System:
OSX 10.6 (snow leopard)
firefox 3.6.6
Selenium IDE

I updated my firefox version, then tried to start the browser. nothing happened. I opened firefox in safemode with all add ons disabled. It started fine. I added my add ons back one at a time until I added selenium IDE again, and it couldn’t start after that.

I also went into about:config and added a new Boolean  setting: extensions.checkCompatibility.3.6b (false) as recommended here. Nothing seems to be working so far.

Has any one else had this problem yet?

4 responses to this post.

  1. The overrides are version specific as it says in the article: “Previous to 3.6 Beta 3, the generic property extensions.checkCompatibility was used, however it now uses specific versions 3.6b in this case.”, so setting it to 3.6b only works with 3.6 beta. Try using 3.6

    See http://kb.mozillazine.org/Extensions.checkCompatibility

    Reply

  2. Posted by Paul McMahon on July 19, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    I’ve likewise had this issue. Even if I try downgrading firefox to 3.6.4, it still breaks when I install selenium.

    Reply

    • I can not seem to get it to work with 3.6 at all. I went back to 3.5 and it works fine. I’d love to figure out what the issue with 3.6 though, as I would prefer to have an updated browser version.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

