Goals

Now that choosing a new team member is complete, it is time to formalize goals for the QA department moving forward. When I started here, QA was a footnote to the development process. The engineers ran unit tests and the production team “clicked through” some functionality at the end. But no one was really focused on what a QA department should look like or what that role should be. I think one of the biggest challenges I faced when I came on was carving out a bigger spot for QA within the existing environment. It is an ongoing process, but in the past six months, I’ve seen vast improvement. It is amazing to see processes start to take shape and make an impact. This position has been incredibly rewarding, in a large part, because I can see improvement every day. The whole team here has been flexible, even when I tried something that didn’t really fit, everyone gave me time to try it and then quickly adapted to something new until we found the processes that worked for us. It is nice to reflect on that progress. But no matter how much further we are now than when I started, there is still so much that can be improved upon.

What I hope to accomplish next is opening up the QA process more to the development team. There is a review process now,  but it is loosely followed. I’d like to finish a test plan and have a round table time for people to review, critique and discuss risk areas and test cases. I think it could help in so many facets. Engineers can think more about risk areas when programming and QA can hear about trouble spots or areas of confusion and revise test cases to be more complete in those areas. The production team will have a more complete picture of what needs to go on before a deploy and most importantly, we all get a chance to sit and talk about quality together. I think its really important for such a discussion to occur before the official testing period.

I keep coming back to where QA teams can add value to the whole process, not just the end product. In an interview, I had one candidate define QA’s role as “Reactionary” to the development process. I have to say, I really don’t want that in this department. I want the QA team to be integrated and active throughout the development process – proactive about reviews, discussions, risk areas and testing. There is no reason to wait until the end of a cycle for that, especially not on an agile team. So here is to a larger team, new goals, and hopefully some more great progress like we have seen in the past six months.

One response to this post.

  1. […] Transparency between departments and code reviews are QA’s best friend, even if it takes more time at […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

